Ali Bin Nasser, a former World Cup referee, has put up for auction the ball Diego Maradona used to score the ‘Hand of God” goal against England in 1986 World Cup. The ball is expected to sell for between PS2.5m and PS3m. However, the referee has been heavily criticised for making the worst mistake of his career. On November 16, the ball will be sold, four days before the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar begins.
Maradona, 25, punched the ball past Peter Shilton from England to score Argentina’s first goal in the World Cup quarterfinal match at the Estadio Azteca Mexico City. Maradona scored a stunning solo second goal after Bin Nasser, the referee failed to notice the handball. The referee stated that it was appropriate to share the memorabilia with all the world. However, he clarified the incident.
Referee Ali Bin Nasser clarifies: “I couldn’t see it clearly”
According to The Guardian, Bin Nasser stated that he couldn’t see the incident clearly. Maradona and Shilton were facing me from behind. According to FIFA’s instructions, I asked my linesman to confirm the validity of the goal. He made his way back towards the halfway line, signaling that he was satisfied the goal should stand.
English footballer slams World Cup referee for profiting from his error
Gary Linkere, a former English footballer, blasted the referee, 78, for trying to sell him the ball. Linker was the one who scored the goal that ended England’s 2-1 loss to Argentina in the quarter-final. According to The Sun, Lineker stated that “How in the world did the referee get the ball?” Do I feel a bit annoyed? Yes, I am. Not.”
The shirt Maradona wore at the time of the scandalous incident was sold for a staggering 7.1 million pounds. This broke all records for sports memorabilia being sold. The no. 10 shirt was awarded to Steve Hodge of England. In a swap, the 10 shirt was exchanged. Lineker stated that it was fair for Hodge to trade the shirt on BBC’s Match of the Day. Lineker said, “But the gallof the referee keeping it in his cupboard for all of his time and now… he’s going cash in on the largest referee’s error in the history of World Cup soccer.” “I mean, really?”